Representing You in Criminal Court
Get defense for your criminal case from the legal professionals at Randall L. Brown & Associates PLC. You need our knowledge of the courts on your side. We promise personal attention and offer flat rate fees. We will successfully handle your case properly, getting you the results you deserve. Call us today at 269-323-8812 to schedule an appointment to discuss your case.
The drunk driving law in the State of Michigan makes it illegal to drive with a .08 percentage blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or above. The .08 limit is the standard measure of the "impaired" driver across the United States or .02 or greater if under 21. Michigan also now has enhanced penalties for anyone caught driving with a BAC of .17 or higher, also known as “Super-Drunk”.
Michigan also has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension.
Drivers with any amount of a Schedule 1 narcotic--such as marijuana, GHB, or heroin--are subject to the same fines and penalties as drunk drivers, even if they show no signs of impairment.
An Operating While Intoxicated conviction will have criminal consequences as well as sanctions through the Michigan Secretary of State, including loss of driving privileges. Currently, convicted drunk drivers can be subject to a $1,000 fine for two consecutive years under the Driver Responsibility Act, for a total of $2,000 in additional costs.
If you have been charged with an alcohol or drug related driving offense or you are under investigation for such an offense, you need an experienced attorney who specializes in OWI defense. We do everything possible to reduce the impact of an OWI charge on your livelihood, your family, and your future.
OPERATING WHILE INTOXICATED/PRESENCE OF DRUGS – OFFENSES
OWI 1st Offense
Up to 93 days in jail
Fines up to $500
License suspension: 30 days no driving; 150 days restricted license
6 points on driving record
Driver’s responsibility fees to Secretary of State: $1,000/year for 2 years
OWI 2nd Offense
5 days to 1 year in jail
Fine of $200 to $1000
License revocation if two DUI or Impaired Driving convictions within 7 years< Community Service of 30 to 90 days 6 points on driving record Driver’s responsibility fees to Secretary of State: $1,000/year for 2 years
OWI High BAC of .17 or More
Operating with a BAC (Bodily Alcohol Content) of .17g/100 ml blood.
Up to 180 days in jail
1st offense – 45 day suspension of driver’s license followed by restricted license for 320 days and mandatory ignition interlock device installed on vehicle.
2nd offense – revocation of driver’s license
Felony, if third offense in one’s lifetime (Heidi’s Law)
1 to 5 years in prison.
Fine of $1,000 to $5,000
License revocation (if two DUIs or Impaired Driving convictions within 7 years)
In Michigan, felonies are serious crimes that are punishable by more than one year in prison. Our attorneys represent clients on a variety of felony offenses, including, but not limited to:
- Drug Offenses
- Gun/Firearms/Weapons Charges
- Property Crimes
- Crimes of Violence
- White Collar Crime
- Theft Crimes
- Felony Drunk Driving
A felony conviction becomes part of your permanent criminal record. If you are convicted later of a subsequent felony, the court can consider your prior conviction and impose a harsher sentence in the new case. Being a convicted felon can hurt you when you are looking for a job or applying to rent a house or apartment. Convicted felons lose the right to vote, to carry firearms and to obtain certain professional licenses.
The experienced attorneys at Randall L. Brown & Associates, PLC. understand the severity of charges of this nature and are committed to providing our clients the best defense possible. We work with our clients and help identify every way to get the best possible results. That includes determining whether there are grounds for dismissal of the charges, exploring plea options and representing our clients at trial. Your case matters and you should get the best legal advice you can.
Our attorneys represent clients on a variety of misdemeanor offenses, including, but not limited to:
- Assault and Battery
- Aggravated Assault
- Disorderly Conduct
- Disturbing the Peace
- Domestic Violence
- Driving/License Offenses
- Drunk Driving
- Illegal Entry
- Minor in Possession/Furnishing
- Operating Under the Influence of Drugs
- Possession of Controlled Substance
- Property Crimes
- Probation Violations
- Reckless Driving
- Resisting Arrest
- Retail Fraud
The criminal justice system involves very specific laws, procedures, and rules. If you are charged with any type of misdemeanor crime, an attorney with knowledge of local procedures and rules is the only person qualified to give you the legal counsel regarding your case. An experienced attorney can determine whether you have any grounds for dismissal of the charges against you, explore plea options, or represent you at trial.
Even in small cases you may need a lawyer. Your case matters and you should get the best legal advice you can. Even a simple misdemeanor can have a huge impact on your life; you need an attorney that cares about you and your future.
Cases we regularly defend include:
- Driving on a suspended or revoked license
- Driving without insurance
- Careless or reckless driving
- CDL offenses
- Equipment violations
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Traffic violations and speeding tickets
- Driver’s license reinstatement
- All other Michigan traffic charges
In most traffic related cases, an experienced attorney can help you negotiate a lower fine and fewer or no points on your driving record. Some traffic violations are serious criminal offenses and require immediate action by a defense attorney. With guidance and legal counsel, it can be determined what can be done in your case to fight to increase the chances of a better outcome.
In Michigan, if you are convicted of a drunk driving offense, you will likely have your driving license suspended. Our experienced attorneys can help answer specific questions that you may have and to guide you through the reinstatement process. If you are someone who has lost driving privileges and wants to reinstate their driver’s license, you need experienced legal counsel.
Even a simple traffic ticket can have a huge impact on your driving record, your insurance and your ability to earn a living. An experienced defense attorney can explain the potential penalties in more detail and review your legal options.
Find out what our experienced Kalamazoo-area attorneys in Portage, Michigan can do for you. Give us a call today.
In Michigan, domestic violence is defined as an assault or battery by an individual in one of the following relationships:
- Spouse (former or present)
- Persons in a dating relationship
- Persons sharing a child in common
- Resident or former resident of the same household
While domestic violence charges are pending, the court may impose a “no contact” provision. This bond condition means that the accused cannot personally, or through a third party, have contact with the alleged victim in any way for the duration of the criminal case. A violation of the order can result in bond being revoked and the accused remaining in jail until trial.
As domestic violence occurs usually within the walls of a home, other than the alleged victim, there is usually never a witness to the crime. Litigating crimes of this nature is difficult as it often falls into a gray, murky area of the law. Experienced legal counsel may be able to defeat the charges entirely or minimize the punishment received.
Our experienced attorneys understand the severity of charges of this nature and are committed to providing our clients the best defense possible. Your case matters and you should get the best legal advice you can. Even a simple misdemeanor can have a huge impact on your life; you need an attorney that cares about you and your future.
We have been providing personalized legal services to clients for over 30 years. Find out what our experienced Kalamazoo-area attorneys in Portage, Michigan can do for you. Give us a call today.
Driver's License Restoration
Driving privileges are revoked in Michigan when a person has obtained:
- 2 or more offenses for driving under the influence/impaired within 7 years.
- 3 or more offenses for driving under the influence/impaired within 10 years.
- Vehicular homicide.
- Negligent homicide.
- OWI causing death or injury
For a first time revocation, a person is not eligible for a driver’s license appeal hearing until the expiration of 1 year. The waiting period for a second revocation is 5 years. Additional periods of mandatory revocation are imposed when someone receives driving violations while in in revoked status. Additional periods of revocations run consecutively for those caught driving on a revoked license making them ineligible for any driving privileges for several years.
In general, Schedule I drugs bring the most serious drug crimes charges. Schedule I drugs include:
Schedule II drugs include opiates, while drugs on schedule III, IV, and V tend to be available in certain dosages as prescribed by pharmacists or doctors.
The penalties can be severe if you plead guilty or are found guilty at trial, and can include fines, probation and jail or prison sentences. An experienced attorney can explain the potential penalties in more detail and review your legal options. Your case matters and you should get the best legal advice you can. Even a simple misdemeanor case can have a huge impact on your career and family going forward.
Find out what our Kalamazoo-area attorneys (offices in Portage, Michigan) can do for you. Give us a call today.